
REGIONAL TRAINING ANNOUNCEMENT 

 

        RATIO STUDY COURSE 

 

Dates, Times, and Location 

 

September 19-20, 2023      

 

8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.   

 

North Idaho College Workforce Training Center  (click to view map) 

525 Clearwater Loop  

Post Falls ID 83854 

 

Recommended Prerequisites 

 

 

• Tax Commission Appraisal Course 1 or IAAO Course 101: Fundamentals of Real Property 

Appraisal; AND 

• IAAO Course 201: Appraisal of Land or IAAO Course 300: Fundamentals of Mass Appraisal; 

OR 

• A comfort level with basic statistics 

 

What You’ll Learn 

 

This course focuses on the development of basic ratio study and statistics concepts as they apply to 

analyzing and improving assessment quality. Students will learn the theories behind ratio studies and will 

practice computing all basic and some advanced statistics that are used in ratio studies. This course will 

help students understand how to apply ratio studies to appraisal situations.  Instruction will be provided on: 

 

• statistical measures of level, uniformity, and reliability 

• sampling and representativeness 

• frequency distributions 

• how to make time adjustments…. And more! 

 

Requirement For This Course 

 

• calculator with a square root key 

 

Instructor               Alan Dornfest, AAS, Property Tax Policy Bureau Chief, Tax Commission  

 

     Alan is the Property Tax Policy Bureau Chief for the Idaho State Tax 

Commission. He has been with the Tax Commission for 45 years, 

supervising property tax policy, the Idaho Ratio Study, and analyzing Idaho 

property taxes and property tax laws. Alan has been a senior national IAAO 

instructor for over 30 years, served on the IAAO executive board, and is 

currently serving on the IAAO Research and Standards Committee.  
 

 

Education Hours            14 credit hours 

         

 

 

 

 

https://www.google.com/maps/place/525+Clearwater+Loop,+Post+Falls,+ID+83854/@47.7013755,-117.0119236,17z/data=!4m6!3m5!1s0x5361dcdf8c437cf5:0x1e02edca84653fa4!8m2!3d47.7013807!4d-117.0097464!16s%2Fg%2F11b8v5xn2g


 

Registration 

 

• Register online no later than Tuesday, September 12, 2023 

• Fee:  $150.00 per person.   

• Invoices will be sent following the course 

• Minimum registration of 10 students 

 

Questions? 

 

Jeff Middleton, Education Director, Idaho State Tax Commission (208) 334-7733 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://tax.idaho.gov/i-1111.cfm
mailto:jeffrey.middleton@tax.idaho.gov

